Recipe: Cream of Pumpkin Soup

Ez is like a vegetarian. He doesn’t eat meat and fish. Actually, he doesn’t eat vegetables too. That makes him a vegetarian kosong? Gone were the everything also eat abit BLW kid. Now, the 2yo Ez is an extremely fussy eater who eats only rice and noodles. Of course he eats the junk food like fries and most potato dishes (if he’s in the mood) but too bad potatoes ain’t veggies.

So in a bid to sneak in something healthier into his system, I decided to make pumpkin soup as he loves soup. I couldn’t decide if I wanted the soup to be savory or sweet. So this time round, I kept it really simple.

Here’s what went into my pot:

  • 600g pumpkin (that’s the weight of the pumpkin chunk before I remove the inedibles)
  • 100ml Thickened Cream
  • 300ml milk (I use Meiji Full Cream milk)
  • A dash of truffle oil (optional)
  • A dash of basil and pepper

If you have been reading my blog, you will realize that chopping stuff with a knife ain’t my forte. So don’t laugh at my pumpkin chunks okie. Personal best. No stress.

Initial attempt

Enhanced version

Steam the pumpkin till mushy

Blend the mushy pumpkin

Add in the milk and thickened cream to the pumpkin and heat it up while stirring gently. Add in a dash of basil, pepper and truffle oil when ready to serve.

Ez and I love soup. The hub only drinks angmoh soup. I didn’t have to coerce the hub into drinking this. So I guess this is not a bad attempt. If you do not like sweet pumpkin soup, you may wish to substitute half of the milk (150ml) with 150ml of chicken broth. Add in a little finely chopped garlic.

I use this instead of chopping my own garlic as I can’t stand the smell of garlic but this works for me. If your chicken broth is unsalted, a sprinkle of salt works wonder after you scoop out a portion for the little one.

Leave a comment